Area Code 716

Where Is Area Code 716?

Updated: June 27th 2021

Area code 716 is the area code for the western corner of New York. Area code 716 is located in the Eastern Time Zone and covers Cattaraugus County, Chautauqua County, Erie County, and Niagara County. When area code 716 was put into service on January 1, 1947, it was one of New York’s original area codes. In 1954, area code 716, along with area code 315, was split to form area code 607.

Buffalo is the second most populous city in New York and is the county seat of Erie County. Buffalo is situated on the eastern shores of Lake Erie at the origin of the Niagara River. Buffalo has a few nicknames, including “The Queen City” and “The City of Good Neighbors.” Buffalo has a humid continental climate, meaning hot summers and snowy winters. Going back in history, the first permanent European settlers arrived in 1789. Erie County was formed in 1821, with Buffalo as its county seat. The completion of the Erie Canal in 1825 resulted in a surge in population and commerce, which led Buffalo to be incorporated as a city in 1832. During the mid 19th century, Buffalo was a terminus of the Underground Railroad. At the start of the 20th century, Buffalo was the first American city to have extensive electric lighting. In 1927, the Peace Bridge opened, linking Buffalo with Fort Erie, Ontario.

Buffalo has a population of 261,310 and the racial makeup of the city is 50.4% White, 38.6% African American, 10.5% Hispanic, and 3.2% Asian (2010 Census). Unfortunately the crime rate in Buffalo is so high that Buffalo ranks among the top three most dangerous cities in New York.

Buffalo has experienced major economic decline due to the loss of traditional jobs in manufacturing, rapid suburbanization, and high labor costs. Starting from 2010, the economy has started to improve and Buffalo has moved towards light manufacturing, high technology, and services. Buffalo has two major league professional sports teams: the Buffalo Sabres and the Buffalo Bills. Much of Buffalo’s architecture is from the 19th and 20th centuries; buildings include the Guaranty Building, the Buffalo City Hall, the Electric Tower, and the Rand Building. Canalside is a historic district on Lake Erie in downtown Buffalo; hundreds of events are scheduled throughout the year at Canalside. Points of interest in Buffalo include the Frank Lloyd Wright’s Darwin D. Martin House Complex, the Buffalo and Erie County Naval & Military Park, the Albright-Knox Art Gallery, the Buffalo Zoo, and the Buffalo Museum of Science.

Niagara Falls is a city in Niagara County in New York and is located at the international border between the United States and Canada. Built along the Niagara Falls and the Niagara Gorge, the city was named after the famed Niagara Falls. Niagara Falls has a population of 50,193 and the racial makeup of the city is 70.5% White, 21.6% African American, 3.0% Hispanic, and 1.2% Asian (2010 Census). For a small city, Niagara Falls has a very high crime rate, placing the city among the top three most dangerous cities in New York. When it comes to the economy, tourism is the main industry in Niagara Falls; an estimated ten million people visit the city and the famed waterfalls each year. Points of interest in the city include the Seneca Niagara Casino, the Cave of the Winds, the Niagara Falls Observation Tower, the Niagara Falls State Park, the Whirlpool State Park, and the Devil’s Hole State Park.

Major Cities In Area Code 716



Niagara Falls

West Seneca

North Tonawanda

North Tonawanda is a city in Niagara County in New York and is named after Tonawanda Creek. Incorporated as a city in 1897, North Tonawanda was a lumber transportation and forwarding center during the mid 19th century. North Tonawanda has a population of 31,568 and the racial makeup of the city is 96.5% White, 1.7% Hispanic, 0.8% African American, and 0.7% Asian (2010 Census). Unlike the other cities previously mentioned, North Tonawanda is a safe city to reside in. North Tonawanda is home to many historic mansions and to the North Tonawanda City Market, the oldest farmer’s market in Niagara County. Points of interest in the city include the Herschell Carrousel Factory Museum, the North Tonawanda History Museum, the Riviera Theatre, and the Gratwick Waterfront Park.

All New York Area Codes By Number